The Lady In Waiting

Standard

‘He who finds a wife finds what is good and receives favor from the Lord’ (NIV Proverbs 18:22)

I am a lady in waiting.  Webster’s dictionary defines a lady in waiting as a woman whose job is to provide help to a queen or princess.  Well, I’m not exactly that sort of lady in waiting, but I am a lady who is waiting on God to send her husband.  It feels like I’ve been in waiting for an eternity. But the reality is I have not. In fact, if I can take my halo off for a moment and be frank, I haven’t waited at all.  The bible says in Isaiah 40:31, ‘but those who hope (wait) on the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.’ Another passage of scripture reads, ‘Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord’ (NIV Psalm 27:14).  Both of these passages aim to teach us to trust God and wait on him–wait for His perfect timing.  But waiting is not for the faint of heart.  It’s challenging. It’s hard.  It can be lonely.

waiting

But what exactly does it mean to wait?  As a woman waiting on God to send her husband, what should I be doing?  Before I answer those questions may I just be candid for a moment? All I have ever wanted to do is be a wife. But instead, I’ve retired from the military; I’m working on my second retirement; I’ve purchased a home; I’ve traveled the world; I’ve graduated from college; I pledged a sorority and a slew of other things. All of these things are great! I’m proud of my accomplishments and I bless God for the beautiful life that I have. But I don’t want to do another thing….but be Mrs. Future!! Forgive me, I digressed. So what is a woman to do while waiting? I’m glad you asked.

  • Pray – ‘Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God’ (NKJV Philippians 4:6). Prayer is our greatest Christian privilege.  Prayer is also a gift from God that should not be taken for granted.  Prayer invites God into every situation we will face.   When we pray, God gives us peace, joy and hope.  When we pray we are acknowledging that we need God. We are acknowledging that we cannot do this without him.  I cannot patiently wait on my husband without asking God for the strength and power to wait and the grace to trust him while I wait.  I pray for my husband. I pray that God will do a work in me that I may be a godly wife. And I pray that God will give us the grace, one for another.  I know and believe that prayer works.  So I will continue to pray while I wait on my husband.
  • Trust – ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight’ (NIV Proverbs 3:5-6). While I am waiting I am trusting that God will keep his promises to me.  I believe God told me that I will be married.  He never said when, he just said I would be.  And since God’s track record is solid with me, I have complete trust that in my time of waiting he is not only preparing me but also preparing my husband.
  • Expect – As I wait for God to move, I am expectant. I am hopeful. I believe the day I cross paths with my husband is not far off. This type of waiting isn’t passive.  I wake up with a heart full of hope every day. I expect to God to reveal who my husband is every single day.  I may wait and wait and wait, but my suddenly…..the day my prayer is answered….will happen.
  • Have Faith – I cannot expect God to give me what I’ve prayed if I do not have the faith that it will come to pass. ‘Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.’ (NKJV Hebrews 11:1).   I believe that I will be married.  And while I am waiting on God to bring it to pass I will continue to serve Him.  While I am waiting on God I will continue to trust Him.  While I am waiting on God I will continue to enjoy the beautiful life that he has already blessed me with, being grateful for everything. I will allow God to continue to break me and mold me that I may be ready to take on the amazing role of a wife.

As I continue to patient and expectantly wait on God to move on my behalf God will continue to grow me and strengthen me.  In addition, he will also give a sweet peace that surpasses all understanding.  A peace that will keep me when I am lonely.  A peace that will silence all negative thinking.  A peace that says no matter what I know God will be with me.  I refuse to give up. I refuse to stop believing.  I will wait full of hope and expectation.  I know that God is powerful and he will break through for me.

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

