I AM A PUBLISHED AUTHOR

Standard

Book Cover

I AM A PUBLISHED AUTHOR!!!!

I want to scream this from the highest mountaintop!

I AM A PUBLISHED AUTHOR!!!!

I never in a million years saw this achievement being part of my resume. But there it is in big bold letters. Over the years I have had many people tell me that I need to write a book because I enjoy writing and my life reads like a bestselling inspirational. I would, however, brush them off with a chuckle. But here I am, in the year 2015, proudly proclaiming that….

I AM A PUBLISHED AUTHOR!!!!!

Now, I must confess; I did not write an entire book on my own (although I now feel as though it is possible for me). No, the book is an anthology and I wrote a chapter…chapter 9 to be exact. But in the hands of hundreds of people (with that number increasing every day)….is the book that I helped write.

I dare not apologize for my excitement. This is a huge feat and an awesome accomplishment. But allow me to give you the story behind the creation of the book (from my perspective). Late last year I received a friend request from Teresa Holmes on Facebook. It is still unclear to me how we became friends. If memory serves me correctly we have a mutual friend but for the life of me I cannot remember who that person is. Teresa invited me to be part of her group, the Bounce Back DNA Movement (www.bouncebackdnamovement.com). Through this movement, the lives of women all over the world, young and old, is being changed as they share their stories of triumph and victory over circumstances that sought to destroy them. Through this movement, women draw strength from God and one another to overcome and become the amazing women that God created each of them to be. I have overcome a lot and always looking to share my story and encourage other women through my story, so I joined the group. I was then approached to do a blogging challenge. I have had an interest in blogging but never took the time to research it or just start doing it. I absolutely loved the challenge and have Ms. Holmes to thank for the creation of Pieces of Me. Shortly thereafter I was approached by Teresa about telling my story in a book project she was putting together. I really didn’t think too much of it; just another opportunity to tell everyone how good my God is. And thus, Wounds Healed, Scars Revealed was birthed.

When I received the book in the mail I ran home and tore the box open (literally) and just held it in my hand and stared at it. I was speechless. Then I found my way to chapter 9 and there in print was the title of my contribution and my name

“Forgiving In Order To Heal”

Shannon D. Robinson

The emotion I felt was indescribable. I held the book close to my heart and said, “thank you Jesus.” I think I even smelled it…don’t judge me! LOL! I wanted to tell everyone that

I AM A PUBLISHED AUTHOR!!!!!

I wished I could tell my mommy. I wanted to pick up the phone and call her and share this amazing news with her. I know she would have screamed and been so happy for me; she was my biggest cheerleader! I imagined her calling all of her friends telling them how proud she was of me, as she did that often. Instead, I sat on my bed and cried because I could not share this moment with her. But I know that she was there in spirit. I know that she and my dad were dancing all over the streets of gold, beaming with pride at the news that their Chocolate-Chip is a published author. I am currently planning my book signing event and anticipating what God is going to do next in my life as a result of Wounds Healed, Scars Revealed being published.

If I could give one piece of advice to anyone that has been beaten up by life it would be, do not give up on God because he won’t give up on you. Life happens, but God is able. And I know if he did it for me, he will do it for you. Simply trust him and live in faith every day.

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it all for good. He brought me to this position so I could save the lives of many people.” ~ Genesis 50:20

About Shannon Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

