Reflection

Standard

As we prepare to bid a fond farewell to 2015, I have been doing what a lot of people around the world are doing, reflecting on the year…the good, the bad, and the indifferent. Reflecting on the lessons the waning year has taught me. Reflecting on goals for the New Year and writing them down as a reminder to keep pressing.

Thankfully, 2015 was a great year! It had its hiccups but overall it was a great year. But there were lessons that I learned.  Some challenged me. But they all have played and continue to play a major role in my growth.

  1. Do not expect others to do what you would do. But do not stop being who you are.

  2. Follow God’s lead. Humans mean well….we really do. But ultimately what is God saying to you?  Do that.

  3. Red flags are there for a reason. Stop ignoring them! No matter how much you love the person.

  4. Stop being concerned about what people think of you. Most people aren’t sure what they think of themselves.

  5. Be you. Accept you. Stay true to you. With all of your quirks, flaws, and sometimes insecurities. Those who love you will love you and not the you they think you should be.

And the hardest and most challenging lesson of 2015 is….drum roll please…..

giphy

  1. It was not you….and that is ok.

I accept these lessons. I have tied them around the corridor of my mind and heart.  I have allowed them to permeate the depths of my soul, causing me to take a long hard look at the woman staring back at me in the mirror.  And I hear the voice of God saying, “Daughter, I have begun an amazing work in you. From the moment you were conceived, while you were being formed in your mother’s womb, I was perfecting you; and I Am still perfecting you and will continue to do so until my beloved Son returns.”

Life is one great big gigantic humongous lesson. Receive what she is teaching.  Because all things work together for your good.

~ Hotep

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

