30-Day Blogging Challenge

Standard

I am always up for a good challenge. I don’t consider myself competitive; however, if someone challenges me to something there is a high probability that I will accept. For example, I was challenged to complete a 10 mile race…..even though I was not an avid runner and in fact hated running. But I accepted the challenge and completed The Broad Street Run 10-Mile Race in May 2010 in 2:40:15. I have completed The Broad Street Run twice since my debut run; 2011 I completed it in 2:12:57 and in 2012 I completed it in 1:57:55. But you get my point……I will accept a challenge.

So it is no surprise that I accepted a 30-day blogging challenge. It is ironic though, because a blogging challenge is how I began my blogging journey. To my surprise, much like the challenge to complete my first race, blogging has been a journey to healing. Some topics were difficult to read let alone write. Others released anger. And still others made me fall on my knees and cry. But my writing has forced me (and continues to force me) to deal with an area of my life that has been a source of pain.

But, the challenge, should I choose to accept, is to pick a theme and for 30-days blog about that theme. I thought long and hard about a theme. Spring is coming, I could blog about that. Or how about running, I could definitely blog about that. No, I wanted my chosen theme to be something that truly meant a lot to me…..something that has changed me….. something that would encourage someone else.  DING DING DING DING!!!! I GOT IT!!!! My theme that I will blog about is the path God chose to teach me #Faith and #Trust. Its not a path that I would have chosen to learn those lessons. However, Proverbs 16:9 says, “A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.”

So I invite you to journey along with me. Until tomorrow………

Challenge Accepted

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

