Set Apart

Standard

I am a Christian. But I’ve not always been. But before I go any further, let me explain what being a Christian means to me. To do this, I call upon American author, poet, and civil rights activist, the great Dr. Maya Angelou, as I borrow a few stanzas from her poem “I Am A Christian:

When I say….”I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting “I’m clean livin’.”
I’m whispering “I was lost,
Now I’m found and forgiven.”

When I say…..”I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak
And need His strength to carry on.

When I say….”I am a Christian”
I’m not holier than thou
I’m just a simple sinner
Who received God’s good grace, somehow.

When I say I am a Christian I am saying that God loved me so much that he gave his only Son that I may not perish but have eternal life.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” ~ John 3:16

Jesus died for me. He knew every mistake I would make. And yet he still chose to go to Calvary for me, that I may be forgiven and made righteous in the sight of God. So when I say I am a Christian, I am saying that I wake up every day grateful for a God who loves me that much.

I have not always been a Christian. I did not grow up praying, reading the bible, or attending church. In fact, the only time I saw the inside of a church was when my brother and I spent the summer with our grandmother in New Jersey.  Those memories, however, left me bewildered about church, church people, God and Jesus. There were no bibles in my home. And the only time God or Jesus was mentioned, it was often followed by an expletive. There was however mention of the Holy Ghost though. Oh, wait, that was the Bar-Kays.

Ironically, even though there was no spiritual foundation, I always believed there was a God. I cannot explain why I believed that; I just did. Maybe, unbeknownst to me, a foundation was being laid during those summers in New Jersey. Or maybe, there was someone praying without ceasing for me and my family. I may never know the answer. But I do know I believed there was a God. Who else could I have been talking to in my room at night?

Many years would pass before I would meet Jesus for myself. And before that amazing day there would be ups and downs. There would be highs and lows. There would be moments of tragedy and triumph. There would be moments I would like to forget and moments that I have forgotten. There would be moments I should have died. There would be moments of plenty and moments of lack.
But God.

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart…” ~ Jeremiah 1:5

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

