Babe in Christ

Standard

My first few years walking with God were amazing. I was on fire for God. I wanted to tell everyone about Jesus. God was teaching me and speaking to me in ways that was blowing my mind. I found myself asking, “what took me so long?!” I was building a relationship with God and my love for him was growing each day.

Once I returned home from Texas I began to attend church regularly. I knew I needed to find and join a church so that I could continue to grow in Christ. Ironically, I did not want to join my parents church. I honestly did not want any influence in my walk. I wanted to learn and grow on my own. So I visited a number of churches in Baltimore trying to decide where I would plant myself.

But God had other plans…..

The Spirit was leading me to my parents church. I knew it. I could feel it. I tried to resist, but it became quite obvious that God wanted me where I didn’t necessarily want to be. So, one Sunday while attending service with my mother, I decided to join First Mt. Olive Freewill Baptist Church. As you can imagine my mother was ecstatic. And I was pretty happy myself. Bishop Oscar E. Brown is a great man of God and I grew and learned so much under his leadership. I also gleaned from Bishop Walter Scott Thomas, pastor of New Psalmist Baptist Church. I was growing. I was being changed. I was learning. And I was loving it! But, there were still challenges.

I found myself struggling in the very areas I wanted to “fix” first. I found myself in the midst of a battle that I did not understand fully. I knew I was becoming a new creature in Christ, but the old me refused to die. But I continued to press. I was learning that I was not equipped to “fix” anything.

But by His stripes I am healed.

So I continued to immerse myself into my new life. I continued to attend church. I continued to read my bible. I continued to study. I continued to pray. Yet all the while the enemy was reminding me…..trying to convince me…..that I wasn’t different. I was the same person as before. It was then the enemy of my soul became real to me.

The enemy pursues me,
he crushes me to the ground;
he makes me dwell in the darkness
like those long dead. ~ Psalm 143:3

About Shannon Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

