Help My Unbelief

Standard

help-my-unbelief-550x299

My journey as a Christian has taught me many valuable lessons. One of the biggest lessons has been never ask God what next. Never ask what else can go wrong because life has a way of showing exactly what else can go wrong. I have learned, and honestly still learning, to face every obstacle, every challenge, and every storm head on and see it has an opportunity for growth. To see it all as another opportunity for God to show up in my life and show out. But that revelation does not happen right away.

As I continued to struggle with lust I also found myself struggling with trusting God. Trusting that God would provide. Trusting that God would take care of me. Trusting God’s word in general. I discovered that the slightest financial setback sent me into a tailspin. If I didn’t have the things I needed or wanted I felt useless. I couldn’t function. I literally could not breathe.

I recall a time in 2003 when things were really tight financially. I was struggling to pay the rent. I was having a hard time paying other bills. And food…..well let’s just say cobwebs were growing in my refrigerator. I was stressed, and one day I was at home thinking about my predicament when I became so overwhelmed at the thought of it all that I laid in the floor and screamed and cried until I made myself sick.

I called my mother because I knew that mommy would know what to do.  But her advice to me was God will work it all out baby, trust him.  I didn’t believe that God could work it all out. Or maybe I thought he would not work it all out for me. I saw what he did for my mother. I witnessed firsthand her trust and faith in God that was so solid that regardless of what she did not have she paid her tithes, faithfully. And I watched how God met every one of her needs. I saw this with my own two eyes and yet I had a hard time believing.

I admired my mother’s faith. I wanted faith like that. But I continued to struggle. I was the person who as long as everything was good I was good. But at the first sign of trouble I panicked. I worried. I lived in fear. I became anxious. All things God said not to do.

 But I would learn. Oh how I would learn to trust God and walk by faith.

 

 

 

About Shannon Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

