Omniscience of God

Standard
Omniscience of God

My parents relocated to Greenville NC in 2002. My mother was born and raised in Kinston NC and she always dreamed of being able to return “home.” Therefore when the opportunity presented itself, she seized it. My dad…..well…..he would have traveled to the end of the earth with her so it

That left me in Baltimore and like my mother I was ready to leave as well. Baltimore wasn’t the same and honestly I think being in the military made it impossible for me to stay in one place for too long before I became bored. However, I did not want to relocate to North Carolina. I knew I would miss my parents, but North Carolina just wasn’t my speed. So when my mother asked, I respectfully declined. A decision I would regret for a brief moment later on.

I decided to move to Philadelphia Pennsylvania! Home of the best cheesesteaks in the world! At the time it was really a no brainier. I was familiar with the city because my former beau lived there. I had a great group of friends there. And my national guard unit was there. So why not Philadelphia? I wish I could tell you that I prayed and asked God if moving to Philadelphia or moving at all for that matter was his will; but I did not. I threw caution to the wind, packed up my apartment and headed to Philadelphia. I found an apartment in the Mt Airy section of the city. I was hired at Temple University. And I joined Enon Tabernacle Baptist Church. Life was good and I was happy.

Being a member of the “Tab” as it was referred to, made me thankful. Thankful that God placed me under the leadership of two dynamic men of God. I had begun to hear horror stories and I was grateful that was not my story. My Enon family is amazing. I grew and developed so much under the leadership of Reverend Dr Alyn E. Waller. My deacon and deaconess were truly family. Their presence in my life during my faith walk was impactful and something I’ll never forget. My women Sunday school class was powerful. Healing, deliverance, and the tearing down of strongholds took place in that room every Sunday. And at my lowest point in my life, my friend and my sister-in-Christ was instrumental in my healing process.

My move to Philadelphia may not have been God’s perfect will but I believe it was his permissive will. God knew the turn my life would eventually take. He knew the journey I was about to embark on. And he knew what I would need.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” ~ Jeremiah 29:11

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

