Never Would’ve Made It

Standard

I GOT THE JOB!!!!!! I could not contain my excitement!!! I was bouncing up and down in my seat!!! I didn’t know who to call first!!! I just kept saying, thank you Jesus!!!! Thank you Jesus!!!! Thank you Jesus!!!! The entire moment was surreal. God blessed me with the job I wanted, in the location I wanted to be in. I could not respond to the email fast enough saying yes I was still interested!

Turns out the hiring manager had been trying to reach me. She said that she had left several messages but I had not received any of them. The email was sent as a last resort and I only had 72 hours to respond. By the time I read the email, I only had 24 hours to respond and it was clear the favor of God was all over the situation. It is said that God works in mysterious ways and this scenario was no exception. If my friend had not called to ask me if I had applied to the job she told me about, I would have never checked my email. At least not in time. But God put it on the heart of her supervisor to call my friend to find out if I had applied, and then put it on the heart of my friend to call me. Only God can move like that!!

My start date was set for three weeks after I accepted the position. I had three weeks to pack up my apartment….again….and figure out where I would stay until I found an apartment in DC. Thankfully, I was able to stay with a friend and on January 10, 2014 I bid Philadelphia a fond farewell and headed south.

I was in awe of how God had moved. Some felt like the job was not from God and that I was being to hasty. But I knew this was God. I had peace about it all. My perfect storm was over. The storm clouds gave way to sunshine. And God opened the windows of heaven and blessed me. And I refused to allow the enemy to convince me otherwise.

It has been two years since my move to Washington, DC., and I sometimes still cannot believe that I am here. For four years God taught me how to trust him completely and to have faith….a faith all my own. I learned that God is faithful even when I am not. I learned that God will stand by his word and that his word will not return to him void. I learned that when I am weak he is strong. And I learned that there is nothing in the world like the peace of God. When all hell was breaking out in my life, I had God’s peace. And although there were days when I felt like I could no longer go on, God kept me. He kept me in the midst of it all.

Since God has restored me, he continues to do the amazing in my life. I pledged Kappa Epsilon Psi Military Sorority; I co-authored a book titled Wounds Healed, Scars Revealed; I joined Toastmasters and I’m three speeches away from earning my Competent Communicator award; I started a home based travel agency business; I started blogging; and I recently did my first speaking opportunity. I’ve still had challenges. But God is good and as been so very good to me.

I am secure in my relationship with God. I’m not perfect and God is still working on me. But I know he is real and no one can tell me any different.

If you find that all hell is breaking out in your life, know that God is faithful. Trust him. Believe his word. Walk by faith. And he will see you through.

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. ~ Lamentations 3:23-23

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

