What Pigeons Taught Me About Following God

Standard

national-bank-of-washingtonMy journey to work is usually a relatively uneventful one. There are days when the occasional rowdy passenger, or delayed train, or even a mouse greeting me at the elevator entrance provides content for my #CommuterChronicles.  But for the most part, my ride to work every morning is uneventful.  This morning proved no different.  That is until I departed the elevator and stood waiting for the light to change so that I could safely cross the street.

Directly in front of me was a square where locals and tourists alike sit and eat lunch, meditate or people watch. On occasion the local skateboarders can be found in the square attempting the latest daredevil feats.  This morning there wasn’t too much activity as most people were hurrying to get to work.  In addition to the people that enjoy the square there are also statutes and historic buildings that offer opportunities for great photography.  One such building is the National Bank of Washington. This historic building, which was constructed in 1888, sits proudly in Washington’s old financial district. I learned that for more than a decade now, there has been talk of turning the building into a museum to commemorate the victims of the American genocide of 1915-1923.

As I waited patiently for the light to change I noticed that perched on top of the National Bank of Washington was a slew of pigeons and almost instantaneously they all took flight at the same time. I stood mesmerized by the pigeons.  I watched them fly in a circle, all in unison, never missing a beat.  As I stood there and watched “the flight of the pigeons” or as I learned is called a Murmuration, I thought to myself, ‘this is how God wants my life to be.  Perfectly in step with His.’  I continued to watch the birds fly in a whirling pattern for approximately one minute.  And then as quickly as the flight started, it ended with the pigeons landing back on the top of the building.

How much more amazing would my life be if I didn’t try to do everything on my own? If I truly lived my daily prayer of, “Lord, order my steps in your Word.”  How much mess could I have avoided if instead of trying to circumvent what the Lord was teaching or trying to do in my life, I simply followed His plan.  The Bible tells me that the Lord knows the plans He has for me.  His plans are to prosper me not to harm me.  His plans are to give me a future and hope (Jeremiah 29:11).  Yet, in spite of knowing this and believing this, I oftentimes find myself traveling unchartered territory.  A road that the Lord never intended for me to travel.  Only to have to come back to Him and say, “Father, forgive me.”

But I marvel at the fact that even when I follow my flesh and think that I can do this thing called life on my own, when I fall flat on my face God is there to pick me up. He picks me up and takes me in His loving arms and welcomes me back to Him.  He cleans me up and fixes my tiara and reminds me that He loves me.  He loved me so much that He died for me.  And there is nothing I can do and no place that I can go that will ever change His love for me.  What an awesome God I serve!

Heavenly Father, I thank you for the depth of your love that you show through your Son Jesus. I thank you that neither death nor life, neither angels or demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate me from your love which is in Christ Jesus my Lord. Thank you Father that regardless of how many times I stray and you are there to gently guide me back to your loving care.  Lord words can never express how much I love you and how grateful I am to you.  But I thank you from the very depths of my soul.  Amen.

About Shannon Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

