Letter To My Daughters Ex

Standard

Dear Son,

Let me begin by saying I do not apologize for the tone of this letter. As a mother it hurts my very soul to see my daughter hurting and therefore I need to make sure that you understand clearly what I am saying to you. 

When my daughter first brought you to meet me I have to be honest, I had my reservations about you. There was something about the way you carried yourself that said you were arrogant, self-centered even. Oh, you weren’t rude to me in anyway; I’m an old school mother so I was not going to allow that. But your disposition caused my mother intuition to kick into high gear. I’m sorry, you’ve never heard of a “mother’s intuition” have you? Well, let me just say it’s much stronger than a daughter’s intuition. It has to be for when daughter’s bring jokers like you home. But my daughter, she liked you. I could tell by the sparkle in her eyes. The way her face lit up when she talked about you. She had an extra spring to her step and she took extra care (more than normal) in her appearance. Oh yes, my daughter was smitten, but I saw right through your charade. And I knew it was only a matter of time before my daughter saw you too.

I’m sure my daughter told you that I don’t like you. Oh we have had many spats about you because I’m not one to hold my tongue. But as a mother I understand that I have to let my children find their own way. I have to let them make their own mistakes. Even if that means watching them get hurt. So while my daughter knew how I felt, I never once interfered. The times she’d come home crying I would hold her in my arms silently praying to God to open her eyes so that she could bear witness to the devil inside of you. 

And then that day came. My daughter was devastated. She was heartbroken and I was mad as hell. I wanted to find you and hurt you like you hurt my daughter but I knew that this was her cross to bear. My only responsibility was to soothe her while God mended her broken heart. To this day she still has not told me exactly what you did, but I suspect it involves another woman. You see, I know your type. You think you are God’s gift to women and everyone you bed is another latch on your belt. And now my daughter is hurt. 

But what has angered me and caused me to write this letter is that you are taking advantage of my daughter now. You ended the relationship. You chose to be with other people. You wanted to be free to sow your wild oats. But why must you continue to lead my daughter on? You know how she feels about you. You know that she loves you. You know that she’s hopeful that the two of you will reconcile. And you continue to have sex with her. When she calls you crying you fill her head with empty words. You fill her head with empty promises. You tell her you love her and how much she means to you but they are lies. You are only telling her what she wants to hear because you only want one thing from her. You call yourself a man, then leave my daughter alone. You don’t care for her. Because if you did, if you really cared for her you would walk away and allow her to heal. If you were a man, you would think of her above yourself and your own self-gratification. 

I hope you take heed to my advice. I hope you look beyond yourself and if you really care for my daughter, walk completely away. Allow her to heal. Allow her to go through her process. In other words……be  a man. 

Signed,
A Mother Who Loves Her Daughter 

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

