Fitness Goal

Standard
Fitness Goal

Growing up I was not into fitness. Physical fitness and healthy eating were not something that was talked about at home or in school. My first real introduction to physical fitness did not come until I entered Air Force Basic Training. Every morning myself and the other airmen, affectionately known as “Rainbows” and “Pickles” were rudely awakened to the sound of the infamous trumpet call. At the sound of the trumpet we had less than 10 minutes to get dressed and outside for PT.

Morning PT consisted of varying calisthenics and a mile and a half run. The struggle was real! But thank God I survived. At the end of the six week training, I had not noticed a difference in the shape of my body, but my mother definitely did; and she immediately brought it to my attention.

Upon entry into basic training, I was a tall thin girl weighing approximately 115 pounds. Post basic training I was a solid and toned 150 pounds!!!! I actually had a stomach and waistline that Janet Jackson would be envious of! Well, that may be a slight exaggeration, but I was giving her a run for her money! My mom loved it….I did not. I was use to the tall thin girl.

As I’ve gotten older I yearn for the commitment and discipline to achieve those results again. Some would say it’s not possible but I disagree. My shero, Mrs. Ernestine Shepherd proves that it is vey possible.  I do however think it’s much harder and will take consistency and dedication on my part.  But I tell myself if Mrs. Ernestine can look like she does at 80, then surely I can do it!

I share this because I’ve set a new goal for myself. By months end I’m pushing to be able to do at least five pull ups. By years end I want to be doing a minimum of 10. I have never been able to do a pull up. Not a single one. And it’s something I’ve always wanted to be able to do. I know it’s a little harder for woman because we typically lack the upper body strength to do one. But that does not mean it’s impossible.

So armed with some pointers and suggestions a friend gave me, oh and Mrs. Ernestine’s picture on my refrigerator for inspiration, I am beginning tonight. Of course I’ll keep you updated on my progress. Stay tuned!

#fitness #fitchicks #strong #ageisonlyanumber #Icandoit

About Shannon D. Robinson

Shannon Robinson Born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland (Go Ravens!!!), I discovered early on that I am very opinionated and passionate about my opinions. This has brought on the realization for me that I think differently from most people and it took some time for me to come to grips with that unique side of me. Writing for me is often an escape. A place I can go with my thoughts and opinions and not have to concern myself with offending anyone or not agreeing with someone. My thoughts and opinions are mine and God’s and I know that He doesn’t judge me on them. My writing is a personal journey that allows me to be transparent with self (and sometimes others) as I believe that nothing I have experienced or gone through on this journey called life was meant for me to keep to myself. Somewhere there is another woman who is experiencing or has experienced the very same things, thoughts, and feelings I have and it is my prayer that my story in some small way helps her to see that she too can come through. While at the same time giving God glory for his wondrous works. I appreciate you for stopping by and sharing in my journey as I try my absolute best to navigate it as smoothly as possible; even when I come across detours and bumps along the way. ~ Hotep

Leave a Reply

